The Gun Control Hypocrisy

July 3, 2013 by toddvoge

So this weekend I’m heading out to Gander Mountain to take the 6 hour class for Minnesota’s Conceal/Carry requirements.  I doubt I’ll carry very often, if at all, but I like the ability to do it when/if I want.

This week, the governor of Illinois used his “amendatory veto power” to change the carefully constructed gun bill that was sent to him.  In a nod to his gun-control backers, he basically gutted the bill.  The Illinois Legislature has the ability to override his veto and put the law in effect as it was written.  It remains to be seen if that will happen.

So why do I mention this?  I can’t believe that people such as the governor really believe gun control is going to change anything.  I was reading the June issue of the Limbaugh Letter about gun control and saw a couple of charts Rush had included that I found rather interesting.

First, if you look at this chart, you will see that the United States is one of the countries with the most guns per 100,000 people.  Those countries that are green, have the most restrictive gun control laws.

GunOwnership

(source: Limbaugh Letter, June 2013)

Now, look at this chart.  It shows the number of gun deaths per 100,000.  Amazing how the countries with the most restrictive gun control have the most gun deaths.

Homocides

(source: Limbaugh Letter, June 2013)

Let’s bring it closer to home.  The largest cities in the United States with the most restrictive gun control continue to have the most homicides.

Murders

(source: Limbaugh Letter, June 2013)

This says it all.  The strict gun control laws have NO effect on homicide rates!  Why is that?  The easy answer is that the only people who follow gun control laws are the law-abiding people.  The bad guys  don’t follow the laws.  Amazing how that works, huh?

So, I’ll go and have my class and get my carry permit.  Do I need it?  Nope.  Why should I get it then?  Because I can.

The people in Illinois should be able to as well.